Home

I accidentally left my trusty cherry-flavoured Vaseline Lip Therapy tube at the office over a weekend. My lips, dry as a desert thanks to Ro-Accutane, were crying out in pain – so I ducked into a nearby pharmacy in search of a cheap, versatile alternative.

This bright pink tube immediately caught my eye:

Nivea Fruity Shine in Pink Guava. Now this is a lipbalm I have well and truly fallen in love with.

Want to find out why?

First, let’s see what Nivea has to say about the Fruity Shine range:

This fruity scent lip balm with fruit extracts and shimmering pigments replenishes moisture and leaves a touch of  color on your lips. This new formula combines rich almond oil, jojoba oil and shea butter to keep your lips as soft and fresh as they can be!

How it works

  • Creates a head turning shine on your lips – pretty in pink!
  • Moisturising your lips making them heavenly smooth
  • Enjoy the fruity scent
  • Contains SPF 10, protection against UVA and UVB rays

How does it actually fare? It ticks all the boxes!

Fruity scent? Check. And it doesn’t smell artificial or chemical-like at all. It also tastes slightly sweet – enough for it to be pleasant and subtle.

Shimmering pigments? Check. A single swiped layer of this stuff on my lips leaves them looking polished and kissable: delicately rosy with a soft sheen, in a My Lips But Prettier way.

Combination of oils to keep lips hydrated, soft and fresh? Check. I only need to reapply twice in an 8-hour workday for comfortable, happy lips.  The SPF 10 keeps lips protected from UVA and UVB rays too (although admittedly, this is quite a low protection factor).

Pour conclure, this Nivea lipbalm is a surefire winner. Who can resist a lipbalm that looks good and does what a good lipbalm is supposed to do? I’ve got a good mind to go stock up on a few more tubes just in case Nivea stops making them!

Also, at only SGD 4.50 (and often cheaper at Watsons or Guardian during promo periods – I bought mine for SGD 3.50 at a Guardian sale) for a (very generous) 4.8g tube, this little gem is a true steal for what it’s worth.

If you’re interested in the other variants available, check out Beetrice’s Reviews for her take on the pomegranate version, Addicted to Blush‘s views on the dragon fruit one, and Beautifully Glossy‘s blog for her thoughts on the cherry variant.

5 thoughts on “Review: Nivea Fruity Shine Lipbalm in Pink Guava

  1. Hello! This lipbalm sounds lovely. But I’m wondering if it’s anything like Nivea’s Pink Grapefruit? How do the two compare?

    • Hi there Syen 🙂

      I was a Nivea Star Fruits in Pink Grapefruit fan for years (discovered it in Paris where it’s marketed as Labello) – it’s quite similar to the pink guava version but there are three differences that I can think of off the top of my head.

      Firstly, colour payoff-wise, the guava is a little cooler-toned than the grapefruit. Secondly, the guava tastes and smells a fair bit sweeter than the grapefruit – and finally, the grapefruit lipbalm became “sweaty” (I hope you get my drift!) and mushy when I came back to Asia, whereas the guava one I own now doesn’t get soft in our climate.

      Hope that helps 🙂

      – ksuan

  2. Hello you! No thanks to you, I now have the Pink Guava lippie too! It’s not an exact match to Pink Grapefruit, but I’ll live. I think it’s a fantastic addition to our Malaysian range of the Nivea balms, and I’m really liking mine. =D

    Just a little question though, did you mean Grapefruit is a touch cooler than Guava? Cos mine certainly looks that way.. eh?

    • Hey there you! 🙂

      Yeah you’re right it’s not really an exact match, but it’s still really nice 😉

      And hmm, on me, the grapefruit lipbalm looked warmer and the pink guava looked cooler. Maybe our different skin tones bring out the colours differently. I’m cool toned like Kahani, but you have this lovely warm glow (sigh jealous)! I tried a few of the blushes that you love (the MAC ones particularly) but can’t pull them off because I look artificially golden-cheeked in them (strange look).

      – ksuan

  3. Pingback: Review: Maybelline Baby Lips Lipbalm SPF 20 in Anti-Oxidant Berry « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

