Home

Hello ladies, hope the week’s started off well for all of you!

Today’s review will be on a somewhat serendipitous find: Avalon Organics Bath and Shower Gels.

I am a huge fan of organic products. Be that as it may, however, I often find them to be grossly overpriced and difficult to come by. That is, until I wandered into a tiny Watson’s outlet in a small mall along Orchard Road and came across Avalon Organics – more specifically, their bath and shower gel range.

What’s the big deal about a bottle of organic bath and shower gel, you might ask? Keep reading to find out.

For starters, here’s the Avalon Organics motto:

We’re dedicated to the expansion of organic agriculture and endeavor to select organic ingredients for our products to support the highest ideals of sustainable, organic agriculture, a cleaner environment and good health. Our devotion to Consciousness in Cosmetics defines an unwavering commitment: To create an extraordinary, unprecedented range of products that are inherently pure and safe while expanding the efficacy and vibrantly healthy benefits of natural body care. We honor you with Consciousness in Cosmetics. Take the time to honor yourself.

Yes, the language is a trifle poncy, but that aside, I like their principles. These days so many skin care products are laden with (often unnecessary!) parabens and silicones, and it’s a nice change to use something wholesome and natural!

I purchased two bottles of Avalon Organics Bath and Shower Gel: Peppermint and Lavender. So how’d they fare?

Undoubtedly, my two favourite things about these bath and shower gels are their scent (oh, the scent!) and how my skin feels after a nice soap-down. All Avalon Organics products are generously infused with essential oils, which not only smell heavenly but also seem to do wonders for skin. My bottles of peppermint and lavender shower gels are no exception – I use the peppermint variant in the mornings to give my senses a nice fresh boost, and use the lavender variant before going to bed to help soothe my senses.

Unlike other shower gels which contain sodium lauryl sulphate (the stuff that helps create volumes of foam), these ones don’t lather up quite as dramatically. Now this may put some people off, as we’re pretty used to associating amount of lather with cleansing power, but I will happily assure you that this is not the case for Avalon Organics. My skin always feels so very fresh and comfortable after a nice soap-down and rinse-off – these bath and shower gels keep skin nice and clean without stripping skin of natural moisture. Love it.

Also, these gels claim to help prevent dry skin, which I have found to be quite true. I’ve been using these bath and shower gels religiously for a month now, and my skin feels much softer than it used to be – even in spots like elbows and knees, without regular use of body butter or lotion on them!

Pour conclure, these bath and shower gels are going to become standards in my bathroom arsenal for a while. Each 355ml bottle of Avalon Organics Bath and Shower Gel retails at USD 10.95 and SGD 14.95 at selected Watson’s outlets. For a shower gel, especially compared to other drugstore brands like Dove and Shokubutsu, this is pretty expensive. However, look out for good promotions: I bought my two bottles on a two-for-one deal at SGD 18.00. And I have not one regret spending my money on shower gels that smell and feel that great. After all, a little pampering in every day never hurt anyone.

Avalon Organics Bath and Shower Gels also come in other variants: Ylang Ylang, Grapefruit and Geranium (this will absolutely be my next try), Lemon, Rosemary, and Olive and Grapeseed. Do check out the rest of their vast range of products, which includes skin care and hair care products of all types and delicious scents!

2 thoughts on “Review: Avalon Organics Peppermint and Lavender Bath and Shower Gels

  1. Excellent review! I’ve used Rosemary before and quite like it. The scent is very relaxing. This reminds me to pick up another bottle as I finished it some time back and am now using J&J’s baby something ‘cos I had a large bottle lying around.

    • Hey Lyn, thanks 🙂

      How are you finding J&J’s? I generally like them (and they smell oh so lovely)!

      – ksuan

Leave a Reply

