Home

SQUEE SQUEE SQUEE – Sephora is officially opened at Starhill Gallery, next to Uniqlo at Farenheit 88 (enough landmarks yet? :))

Unfortunately for me, I have yet to go there so if anyone has been, let me know how much my next review costs in RM. Thanks! 🙂

Before I continue, anyone have the same annoying problem as me? – oily eyelids? Oily lids mean that my eyeshadow and eyeliner get all creased and disappear, or even worse, run all around my eye area until I look like a drugged-out panda. I only learnt about primers a couple of years back and when Sephora opened in Singapore, I ran to find this magical thing called ‘eye primer’. Being the cheapo I am, I of course, bought this 11g tube for a mere SGD18.00:

Too Faced Shadow Insurance. Picture: Sephora.com

What it claims to be is:

…your full-coverage insurance policy against all fading, creasing, melting, blurring, oil slicked, and hard-to-blend eyeshadow accidents. Our silicone based eyeshadow primer transforms any eyeshadow into a perfectly blendable, color-drenched, intensified version of itself, then locks it down perfectly until you take it off. This soothing formula evens out the skintone on your lids and smoothes lines while securing a barrier between the oils of your skin and your makeup, so no shadow catastrophes will ever happen again.

Copied blatantly from Sephora.com. So did these claims hold up?

You bet they did! Despite the silicone base, the formula melted quite easily and spread like a dream. There’s a very subtle shimmer and I daresay you could use this as a very light eye concealer. It brightened up my eye area considerably but do take note if you have very heavy bags, as this is not a miracle maker.

But – this is a miracle maker when it comes to making eye makeup stay put. By stay put I really really mean it. I use a tiny amount, like the size of a 3-5 cous cous lumped together (does that make sense?) and apply it on my lids and at the bottom of my eyes. The Sephora site says it better: “It’s concentrated…the size of a rain drop covers the whole lid”.

I’ve used cream eyeshadows, normal powder eyeshadows, pencils, liquid…you name it, it stays put all day long. There was one time I used my Urban Decay 24/7 pencil and accidentally rubbed my eye – I looked in the mirror and most of the color was still there! Brilliant! Without primer, I would be seeing nothing on my lids anymore, or all the green and blue shimmer would’ve decorated my face like confetti.

I say that you should definitely get this. Benefit’s Stay Don’t Stray may have been marketed heavily but I don’t see why I need to spend so much on that when I have a tube that’s cheaper and lasts me for uber long. Hopefully Sephora Malaysia brought this in, because I’m definitely restocking on this.

2 thoughts on “Review: Too Faced Shadow Insurance

  1. Pingback: FOTD: Little Red | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

