Home

Hi ladies!

I’ve reviewed Clinique’s 1st step – the cleanser – and now it’s time for the 2nd step – toner.

Clinique’s previous formula was known as the Clarifying Lotion and it came in several types in various strength. Mine is the 3rd strength in pink, whereas ksuan uses Clarifying Moisture 2 which is a milder version of mine. Briefly speaking, mine smells quite strongly of swabbing alcohol whereas the ‘moisture’ version leaves a layer of moisture on your skin.

Clinique's 2nd Step. Picture: Google.com

Clinique considers the 2nd step to be extremely important as their formula claims to exfoliate dead skin cells, revealing fresher-looking skin underneath. With daily gentle exfoliation, your skin cell turnover is quicker and your skin becomes brighter with regular use. I used to use the purple one (strength 2) but found it too mild for my skin, and ended up with strength 3.

The great thing about Clinique’s step 2 is that it helps to exfoliate the dead skin cells without harsh scrubbing. I felt like I was prepping my skin for the moisturizer and when I was using my 3-step with Clinique’s Turnaround Concentrate, my skin was probably at its best (at that time).

The not-so-great thing is probably the smell. I am used to it but my colleague said it smelt too strongly of alcohol and that did worry me a little. After all, alcohol is drying and I’m not entirely sure if it was helping to alleviate my oily skin. It’s strong to the point that if I accidentally inhale it, I do feel it burning my nostrils a tiny bit.

Now the strange thing is, the oilier your skin, the stronger the toner. Dry skin either uses strength 1 or the Clarifying Moisture types.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with the toner, and a 400ml bottle retails at RM125. I like it because it does the exfoliation job well but the smell may get some time to get used to.  However, I think that the old adage of not having an ‘alcoholic’ toner on your face may ring true for most people, including myself :). The old formula was RM115. You can get it cheaper at Strawberrynet.com but I think it’s the old formula that’s still available.

5 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Clarifying Lotion Twice-A-Day Exfoliator

  1. I was using No. 2 for a few months last year but sadly, it got too drying on my skin over time. I have dehydrated and sensitive skin. I also tried out the moisturising version but it was really tacky and I didn’t like it at all.

    It works wonders on my sis though and she’s using No. 3 (alcohol version).

    • Hey Lyn,

      Try Clarifying Moisture Lotion 2 🙂 I use that and it’s great. No excessive dryness, no alcohol content. The Clinique consultants told me that the Clarifying Moisture range was made with Asian skin and weather conditions in mind, too 🙂

      – ksuan

  2. Pingback: Review: Nivea Aqua Sensation Invigorating Cleansing Gel and Toner (Twin Pack) « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

