Home

Happy Thaipusam everyone! It’s a lovely Thursday morning, and right now I’m sitting at home with Himalaya Herbals’ Purifying Mud Pack drying on my face.

Himalaya Herbals Purifying Mud Pack

This mud pack is suitable for oily skin, and I use it once a week.  The official website states that it “refreshes and rejuvenates facial skin by absorbing excess oil and removing impurities. It is enriched with Walnut, which removes blackheads and dead cells, Fuller’s Earth, which removes deep-seated impurities. Mineral Clay improves circulation and makes the skin soft and tender”.

Fuller’s Earth has cooling properities and deep cleanses skin, whereas walnet removes skin impurities. Mineral clay heals, improves circulation and makes the skin soft and supple.

What’s interesting about this mud pack is you have to mix it with water to create a paste. The amount of mask you squeeze out is entirely up to you, but my general recommendation would be for every one pea-sized squeeze = add three or four drops of water.  You can mix this up in a small tub (I recycle my eye cream tubs for things like these) and give it a shake or stir. The mixture can’t be too dilute, or it’ll just slip off your face. This is a dry-off mask and it’s meant to cake on your face before you towel or tissue it away.

There’s no discernible artificial scent; in fact, the smell makes me feel like I’m in my own little spa somewhere. I let it dry for about 15 minutes before dampening my hands and gently massaging the walnut bits around for some extra exfoliation. Usually after using this, I find my blackheads slightly easier to squeeze out and my face has a glow to it. No oil whatsoever is left on my face, but I’m not entirely sure about this oil-stripping quality as it may dehydrate my skin further.

My final conclusion? I use this pretty regularly and it helps on my zits on my neck. I don’t break out and my skin feels pleasantly cool afterwards. I’d say give this one a try if you have combi-oily skin as this my dry out normal or dry skin. It didn’t leave me with a tight feel either.

I can’t see the firming or rejuvenating parts that it promised on the tube, but maybe it’s because I’m still in my early 20s. However, it’s never too young to start taking care of our skin, so for RM26.90 for 150ml, this is a good budget buy.

Available at all pharmacies and Himalaya Herbal stores.

Leave a Reply

