Home

Happy 2011! Hope you guys had a great celebration :). Let’s kickstart the new year with a ‘fresh’ review, one of the famed Shu Uemura cleansing oils:

Shu Uemura High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Fresh. Photo: Author's Own

These are the ubercute samples I received after purchasing Shu’s eyelash curler (another best-seller). I’ve since purchased the 150ml bottle for RM99 (the 450ml bottle goes for RM260, which makes it cheaper pump for pump), and I am loving it oh-so-very-much!

Basics: Shu’s cleansing oils come in 6 ranges:

  • Pink: High performance (HP) alancing cleansing oil fresh – combi to oily skin
  • Yellow: HP balancing cleansing oil advanced formula – all skin types
  • Orange: HP balancing cleansing oil enriched – dry skin
  • Green: Cleansing beauty oil premium A/O advanced formula – aging skin concerns
  • Pale Yellow: Cleansing beauty oil premium A/I – stressed skin
  • Purple: Brightening cleansing oil advanced formula – dull skin tone

All cleansing oils are formulated with botanical extracts, making them pleasantly frangranced and good for your skin. As it’s a water-soluble oil, users don’t have to worry about clogged pores or residue.

Most of you probably know by now how cleansing oils work. For Shu, you take 3 or 4 pumps onto dry hands and gently smooth it over your dry face. Dampen your hands and emulsify the oil, before rinsing off.

How does the emulsification process work? Basically, the oil dissolves impurities inside the pore, and by adding a little water, the impurities are then lifted out of the pores. Rinsing thoroughly washes away these impurities and leaves your skin clean and clear.

The result? Really clean, soft skin. I was so surprised at how well this worked. No clogged pores and my skin felt so refreshed. The pink one has such a light texture and has cherry extract to remove excess dead skin cells and help tighten pores. I didn’t see much effect on my pores but I definitely felt super clean without the stripped-away feel. It worked great for removing make-up and I definitely felt like this was the go-to cleanser. The only thing stopping me was the price! It is quite pricey, but it does the job so well!

The SA said that this can be used as a day and night cleanser, and I’m wondering if I should just use this. I’m not sure if this lasts long because you need 3-4 pumps (I use about 3). It does leave a bit of an oily residue in my bathroom sink but I just need to wash it off.

Have you used this before? What are your thoughts?

4 thoughts on “Review: Shu Uemura High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Fresh

  1. i have tried few of the Shu cleansing oils, but they just did not perform up to my expectation. Inuovi and Bobbi Brown cleansing oil work better for me 🙂

    • Hi Xin, happy new year! I’ve yet to try Inuovi but I agree, Bobbi Brown’s cleansing oil is really nice too! I have a baby sample as well.

  2. Every single type of Shu Uemura cleansing oil breaks me out something awful 😦 Glad you’re liking it though 😀 I echo Xin – give I Nuovi and Bobbi Brown a shot. They are lighter without that greasy feel I get with Shu Uemura. But then I double cleanse all the time soo… 😉

    Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you too ParisB! I definitely will, given that they’re also both cheaper 😉 I agree, double cleansing is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

