Home

After a long wait, it’s finally here …

Take note, ladies: UK brand Soap and Glory has reached Singaporean shores! A limited range of Soap and Glory products is now available at all Sephora outlets throughout Singapore! After reading so much about Soap and Glory thanks to the So Loverly ladies, I was determined to check it out for myself.

Cute packaging? Check. Great-smelling products? Check. Affordable? Check.

Therefore, I succumbed to temptation and purchased their (in)famous Sexy Mother Pucker Lip Gloss in Nude. Read on to find out more!

First of all, what really caught my eye was a combination of the quirky retro girly packaging and its punny nudge nudge wink wink-inducing moniker.

Photo courtesy of soapandglory.com

So, what praises does the Soap and Glory site sing of this Sexy Mother Pucker anyway (sorry, the pun was there, I couldn’t resist)?

Extreme formula lip plumping gloss, with scientifically-proven plumping microspheres that explode in volume up to 10x when they come in contact with water. They’re like tiny, dehydrated little sponges that expand when you apply them onto your lips. We’ve also formulated Sexy Mother™ Pucker with a rare circulation enhancing ingredient that gives your lips a little ‘electric’ buzz, to move more blood around the area, creating the swelling effect mentioned above).

As a full-lipped girl, I was pretty nervous about a product that could amplify my lips to gargantuan proportions, but I thought I’d give it a swipe just in case – so I picked up a tube of the Nude shade and tried it out. I really liked the colour upon first glance – in the tube, it’s a little darker than the usual cool pink shades I go for, but when applied, it enhanced the natural flush of my lips and gave it a nice, elegant overgloss. It’s a very classy look that I approved of immediately.

To my surprise, it also smelled (strongly) and tasted (faintly and sweetly) of Jaffas, or orange chocolate. This was a tiny bit perplexing, but I didn’t mind it much. Also, I don’t think that any boyfriend/fiancé/husband would mind either if they were kissed by orange-chocolatey flavoured lips every once in a while.

A couple of minutes after application, I felt my lips go into a minor tizzy as the circulation-enhancing ingredient in the gloss got to work – my lips literally fizzed and tingled for at least 5 to 10 minutes, after which my lips looked surprisingly plumped, comfortable, filled out and wrinkle-free, sans scary beestung appearance. I also found myself oddly fond of the tingly feeling, which I can only describe as a mild, electricky, effervescent fizz. A quick warning though, as always, that it may not be everyone’s cup of tea!

Also, it lasted on my lips for ages after application. This gloss clung on to my lips for at least 5 hours, despite battling humidity changes (multiple trips from air-conditioned space to 35-degree sweaty weather outside and back) and a downpour (my mascara ran, my eyeshadow and blush sloughed off, my foundation was partially washed away … but Sexy Mother Pucker didn’t even budge).  Muy impresivo.

Pour conclure, I’m a happy first-time Soap and Glory customer – and even happier that I started with Sexy Mother Pucker. Great colour, great staying power, and a bonus tingly feel maketh the product indeed. Each 7ml tube retails for a pocket-friendly SGD19 and comes in two other shades apart from Nude: Peach (which looked more towards the pink side when swiped) and Clear.

Interested? Check out Soap and Glory at your closest Sephora Singapore outlet. From what I’ve seen so far, the products available mostly fall under the body care (they have a divine-smelling body butter called The Righteous Butter) and makeup (stumbled across their ultra-handy shaping and highlighting brow crayon called the Arch de Triumph, and their bronzer/highlighter compact called Solar Powder) categories – no gift sets, no facial care products (yet). Hopefully Sephora brings in the full range soon – will be keeping my eyes peeled for any new additions to the range!

One thought on “Review: Soap and Glory’s Sexy Mother Pucker Lip Gloss in Nude

  1. Pingback: Guest Review: SdV Takes On Soap and Glory’s Scrub Your Nose In It and Flake Away « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

