Home

Because LOLCat language is warranted for happy-slappy moments like this, I will say I finally has it. And is it everything I hoped it would be? Yes.

Allow me to introduce you to my new companion: Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick Compact in Nectar. This would be an excellent time to cue the chorus of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Isn’t She Lovely’.

Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick Compact in Nectar – Photo: Author’s own

Ain’t she grand! I know I’m raving, but there are so many reasons to rave about this beautiful product that I simply can’t help myself. Keep reading to to find out more!

Here’s an up-close look:

Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick in Nectar, Closeup – Photo: Author’s own

Five gorgeous shades, one elegant (but fingerprint-prone!) compact, multiple uses. What’s not to like?

The Nectar compact is the coral-glow variant of the Shimmer Brick range, consisting an amalgam of three pink shades (one cool, one light and one warm), a warm peachy shade and a radiant pearl shade. The Bobbi Brown site suggests that it be swept over cheekbones, layered over your regular blush as a highlighter, but I find that it looks beautiful as a blush/highlighter all by its (lovely) lonesome. Each shade can also be used individually (or blended together) as an eyeshadow as per your personal liking.

With this product, a little goes a long, long way. I only have to gently press my ole faithful EcoTools blush brush against the surface of the compact for it to pick up the right amount of pigment for one cheek – the result is a happy, dewy, lightly flushed coral glow with a golden undertone.

Although I am not a huge fan of shimmer, I appreciated the amount of shimmer in this brick as it was not at all overwhelming. Also, pigment-wise, iIt’s not quite as intense as Nars Orgasm or as pretty-in-pink as Benefit’s Coralista, which works well for me as I prefer a more buildable, sheerer blush.

Even if Nectar isn’t right for your skin tone, Bobbi Brown has an entire range of bricks to suit anyone’s skin tone and personal preference. One of my friends (a tall, dark-haired, very fair-skinned Caucasian girl with green eyes) swears by Shimmer Brick Rose‘s silvery-rose toned glow – where I found it a little bit too bright and sparkly against my yellow undertone, it made her look fresh and radiant. I also checked out Shimmer Brick Bronze and found it beautiful but a little too deep – I would recommend this for olive/darker-toned girls instead (although a plethora of fair-skinned girls have sung praises for it on the Bobbi Brown site). If you’re after an all-over-body glow, you can check out the Shimmer Brick for Body.

Pour conclure, this investment has made me a very happy girl indeed. I love that the pigments of this Shimmer Brick come together so well to produce a luminous, natural, healthy glow that isn’t excessively shimmery. The quality is also impeccable, and because so little product is needed to achieve that happy glow, I have a feeling that this compact will last me absolutely ages.

I ordered my Shimmer Brick, unboxed, off StrawberryNet for the very affordable promotional price of about USD20 (roughly SGD29); a far cry from the SGD68 it retails for at your nearest Bobbi Brown outlet. Just as a sidenote for girls who may be skeptical about buying unboxed products from StrawberryNet, I’ve never had any problems with unboxed purchases from them before – everything I have ever ordered from them has been damage-free and immaculately surrounded by a cushioning of styrofoam peanuts and bubble wrap prior to boxing. They are often pretty good buys as they are a great deal cheaper unboxed.

10 thoughts on “Review: Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick Compact in Nectar

  1. I have been coveting Nectar for ages and eyeing it on StrawberryNet too but keep slapping my itchy fingers each time they twitch to place an order.

    Chanting “I. DO. NOT. NEED. IT.” helps too.

    What would absolutely do me in though is if Bobbi Brown does a reissue (and hopefully permanent addition) of her Shimmerbrick in Plum. It was part of the mini Shimmerbrick lineup for Winter ’09 and I fell head-over-heels in love with it. Unfortunately, it was also ridiculously expensive and waaay out of my budget.

    *sigh*

    • Hey Eli,

      Thanks for swinging by! Heh I tried all the techniques you mentioned, but I gave in anyway… and I have no regrets at all. 😉

      Mmmm, the plum one sounds beautiful though. How expensive was it? And I’m guessing it was a fair bit smaller than the regular Shimmer Bricks.

      – ksuan

      • It was AUD 130 for a shimmerbrick the size of a Bobbi Brown eyeshadow/blush pan. The colour was great and the pan could be fitted in a BB custom palette but the price was outrageous. It’s a week’s rent!

        • Ouch, that is mighty hefty for what it is. To be fair though, so many skincare and cosmetic products are so expensive in Australia because of the shipping and lack of price adjustment (given the USD and AUD are on par right now, especially)!

          I hope they bring Shimmer Brick Plum back for your sake, Eli. And even if they don’t, I’m certain Bobbi will come up with a special edition range for Christmas that will be divine anyway!

          – ksuan

  2. hehe, I bought mine frm Strawberrynet too mostly because I cannot resist such a beautiful thing at THAT price. Unfortunately, I’m generally not into using Shimmerbricks because they tend to look overly shimmery on me (compared to MAC Mineralize Skinfinishes). I have three currently and though I don’t use them often, I treasure them!

    • Hey Connie,

      Thanks for reading! And I know what you mean, I’m amazed that Eli has staved off temptation so expertly. She has willpower.

      Which Shimmer Bricks do you own? I’ve never tried MAC’s Mineralize Skinfinishes to be quite honest… What are they like?

      – ksuan

  3. Pingback: Review: Philosophy’s The Supernatural Lit from Within Healthy Cream Blush in 01 Bare Your Soul « belle demoiselle

  4. Pingback: ksuan’s Skin Profile + All About Ro-Accutane | belle demoiselle

  5. Pingback: Guest Post: SdV Takes on MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Stereo Rose | belle demoiselle

  6. Pingback: Review: Human Heart Nature 100% Natural Mineral Blush in Pink Quartz | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

