Home

If you’re looking for a look that’s sultry, sensual, seductive and glamorously sexy this fall season, how about this:

Bobbi Brown Black Velvet look - Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmetics.com

This ultra- sophisticated look is courtesy of Bobbi Brown’s new Black Velvet collection. Find out more about it after the jump!

The aptly-named Black Velvet collection is Bobbi Brown’s 2010 fall collection. It may not be for everyone and it definitely may not work on all skin tones and facial features (absolutely, 100% not mine, for certain!), but I find myself very appreciative of this look. The delicately smokey eye, the lush, dusky lip colour and the oh-so-lightly illuminated, tawny cheeks all combine to create a look that really makes the grade for me.

Although the entire look isn’t for everyone, I do think that some of the products in the Black Velvet collection are to die for – more for their versatility and timelessness than anything else, which is a true hallmark of Bobbi Brown products.

Here’s a rundown of my favourites from the Black Velvet collection:

Kohl Eyeliner

 

Bobbi Brown Black Velvet Kohl Eyeliner - Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmetics.com

Although I am not a huge fan of eyeliner pencils (sharpening them properly was never a skill I got right), I have always liked the density, texture and smoothness of Bobbi Brown’s.  I am particularly fond of the Black Plum shade and would get it if I had a little more confidence in my ability to properly care for a nice eyeliner pencil without breaking it every time I sharpened it!

Metallic Eye Shadow

Bobbi Brown Black Velvet Collection Metallic Eye Shadow - Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmetics.com

Ah, what pretty shades – and so easy to layer on to go from a light daytime look to a sassy evening look! Also, Bobbi’s eyeshadows are quite pigmented so if you were to buy one of these, they would offer fantastic colour payoff, great buildability and probably last a long time. Black Cocoa is a delicious shimmery neutral brown that makes for a nice daytime shade, Black Charcoal is a beautiful anthracite-silver that would go the distance in creating a sensual smokey eye, and Black Plum really opens up and brings out the warmth of brown eyes.

 

Lip Colour

lip colour

Bobbi Brown Black Velvet Lip Colour - Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmetics.com

Seeing these colours in their rich, dark glory made me wish I had the skintone to pull off wearing them! There is something so alluring and mysterious about the black-red plum of Black Maple. However, Black Raspberry, the other lip colour offering in the Black Velvet collection, is a little bit too intense for my liking.

I will have to admit that I am not so crazy about their Metallic Lip Colour offering in the range – Black Garnet seems a little over the top for my taste. Neither am I a huge fan of their Sheer Colour Gloss in Black Chocolate, because I know brown doesn’t complement my yellow undertone.

However, all in all, I love this look and think it would look amazing on girls with medium to darker, or olive-undertoned skin. I guess fairer girls like myself will have to enjoy her other lighter collections such as the delightful Denim and Rose.

To check the collection out for yourself, head over to your nearest Bobbi Brown counter or outlet.

Leave a Reply

