Home

Finally, a proper post on our parts. We’re dreadfully sorry and hope to make it up to you lovely people who’re still watching this space!

As per mentioned, dom and I have both been swept away by the mad tides of life lately. And as often occurs when life grabs you by the legs and flips you upside down, you stress out (a teensy bit) and your skin responds in kind by going into panic mode. For some people it’s dryness, for others it’s breakouts – for me it’s red splotchiness, zits (primarily of the hairline variety) and excessive sebum production. I know, this all sounds terribly romantic and charming (please rein in your imaginations). This has been happening for the last three weeks or so, and my skin is the unhappiest it’s been with me for a long while.

I decided last week that it was time for drastic action – and after hours of scouring the ‘net for reviews, I rocked up to my closest Clinique counter (what can I say – I’ve gone full-fledged Clinique and never looked back) and purchased what many of my friends (dom included) have called ‘skin love in a jar’ (or variations on said theme):  Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief.

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief - Photo borrowed from soLoverly.blogspot.com

Yes, the photo is rather tempting too.

What’s my verdict so far? Does this innocuous little pink jar really contain ‘skin love’? Read on to find out.

Clinique has been pretty actively pitching this product since its launch. The website claims that it works on all skin types, and boasts the following:

Light, comfortable cream/gel plumps skin with hydration for a full 24 hours. Fine lines, flakiness and tightness are washed away. In their place—a sense of supple, firm, vibrant well-being, even through shifts in humidity. One ‘drink’ and skin looks and feels happier, healthier.

Do these words ring true? Based on my experiences so far, it’s a resounding yes. The first time I applied Moisture Surge to my skin, it instantly felt cool and hydrated. My skin texture immediately smoothened out to the touch, my super shiny T-zone became dewy instead of mirror-reflective – and even in humid Singaporean weather (note: Singapore is a lot more humid than Malaysia, trust me), it didn’t take eons to absorb! Either that, or my skin is just that thirsty. I was so happy that I just wanted to just slather the stuff on, that’s how nice it felt. I have been using it twice a day after my Clinique 3-step routine ever since. Interesting side note, it also holds makeup really well as a base – no powder sloughage even after a full work day! You can apparently use it over makeup too but I have yet to try that.

Thus far, one of my favourite things about Moisture Surge is its uninvasive texture. The texture of Moisture Surge is described as a ‘gel-creme’ – it is a soft translucent pink shade, water-based, not greasy, extremely lightweight and quickly absorbed. Unlike many other moisturisers, it doesn’t feel sticky or thick after application. Neither is it oily at all – in fact the moisturising properties of the gel-creme keeps my skin from oversecreting sebum (note: I’m not completely sure how this would go with dry-skinned girls though). A very small amount goes a very long way as it spreads with ease, and instead of massaging it into the skin – frankly there’s no need for that, as it sinks into the skin very nicely with little effort on my part, I just use my fingertips to lightly and evenly apply it across the skin surface.

Also, it is fragrance-free. According to recent studies, about 90 to 95 percent of bad reactions to skin products are not because of their chemical content but because of fragrance or colouring in them. Having had funky experiences with heavily perfumed skin care products, I tend to shy away from them and ally myself closely with fragrance-free products – particularly when it comes to products used on the face. If any of you ladies reading have had similar experiences, do share!

Anyway – back to Moisture Surge! The Clinique site says that you can leave a thick layer of Moisture Surge on your face for five minutes as a hydrating masque – but I went a step further and left the layer on overnight. In the morning, I simply washed my face with my trusty Clinique Liquid Facial Soap – Oily Skin Formula and my oh my, was I a happy girl. My skin tone was more even, my skin was more supple and softer, my existing zits didn’t look fierce and red anymore – all in all, my face just looked brighter, calmer – relieved, almost.  Nothing like (skin) comfort food… or in this case, comfort drink.

Pour conclure, I am thrilled with Moisture Surge so far. At RM160 for a 50ml jar (I bought mine on a recent trip home to Malaysia, but it’s available at a comparable price in Singapore), it’s not exactly the cheapest of moisturisers but it definitely makes my skin happy. My plan is to continue using this baby for another month and to write another more thorough review then. After all, the real strength in any product lies not in its short-term benefits, but its long-term ones, no? On that note, here’s to nothing but good news up ahead on my journey with Moisture Surge – and if I’m lucky, rejuvenated, renewed, revitalised skin at the end of it!

6 thoughts on “(Preliminary) Review: Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

  1. Nice review. It sounds as if my skin is going through the same thing 😦 And it’s such a coincidence that I recently switched to Clinique and bought this moisturiser too!

  2. Thanks for dropping by, Lyn! Let us know how you go with it too. My skin is quite dire straits and I’m hoping that a few weeks of Moisture Surge will help whip it back into shape! I hope it does the same for you too!

    – ksuan

  3. Pingback: Review: Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Oil-Control Cleansing Mask « belle demoiselle

  4. Pingback: rinnah's consumer views » Blog Archive » Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

  5. Pingback: Comparative Review: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion v. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel « belle demoiselle

  6. Pingback: Review: Nivea Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

