Home

During my last visit to a Bobbi Brown counter (the one that spawned this fawning, wide-eyed eyeliner gel entry), I peered around, as you do, at the breadth of pretty products available. After hearing so much about Bobbi Brown’s foundations and their natural blendability, I asked my friendly makeup artist on duty about them and she sweetly obliged by telling me about their hottest selling product, the Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA++.

Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA ++ – Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmetics.com

And when I demonstrated more interest, she gave me a tiny sample of my own to take home and test out for myself. Now, when I say tiny, I mean tiny. Want to find out more? Read on!

Behold, the smallest (and cutest) bottle of foundation I have ever seen.

My teeny sample of Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA ++

In fact, it is so small and adorable that a typical bottle of Revlon nail polish towers over it in a Goliath-like fashion as per below:

For comparison’s sake – My teeny sample of Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA ++ vs. Revlon Nail Enamel in 487 Tuscan Sun

Now that I am done gushing about the cute packaging my sample arrived in, here’s what Bobbi Brown had to say about this foundation:

Oil-free, all-day wear so you’ll have soft-matte, even-looking skin without having to pile on powder throughout the day, this is Bobbi’s soft-matte “sequel” to our (now discontinued) Oil-Free Finish Foundation. Sponge-like powders absorb excess oil on the surface of the skin, while emollients lock in moisture to ensure skin remains perfectly balanced. Transfer-resistant formula helps create a barrier against heat and humidity for 8 hours of wear so makeup stays in place. Perfect for oily and normal/combination skin.

The first thing I noticed about this foundation was how light it was on my fingertips – it felt just slightly thicker than water, and it was a bit more runny than many liquid foundations out there. Very nice! The second thing I picked up, whether fortunately or otherwise, was that it had an unusual smell – much reminiscent of maraschino cherries. While this scent threw me slightly off-kilter (how often does one’s foundation smell of a sundae/cake topping?), it wasn’t unpleasant enough to be a deterrent. Plus, it didn’t have that funny sunblocky, waxy smell that many SPFed foundations have. Still good.

According to my friendly makeup artist, my skintone was most closely matched to Sand (No. 2) – a pale yellow-undertoned shade. When I first applied this foundation to the back of my hand, I was amazed at how seamlessly it blended into my skin, quickly evening it out with a slightly powdery touch. The same effect occurred when I applied it to my face, and I was surprised when it didn’t get sticky thanks to my oily skin – this must have been thanks to the sponge-like effect of the powder base in the liquid that Bobbi talks about on her website. I also found no need to use a foundation brush, as using my fingertips alone resulted in lovely blending – as I said, seamless integration of liquid foundation and skin surface!

So, altogether a solid first impression – now to see how it held up throughout the day in blistering humidity and heat. Ultimately the foundation held up quite well and didn’t melt or rub off too much in spite of a fair bit of sweating. What impressed me most was the oil control factor – I generally rely on a nice layering of mineral powder foundation + several supporting facial blotters to keep my sebum levels at bay throughout the day, but even sans too much blotter aid, I managed to avoid the shiny look for longer than usual. The look went from elegantly matte in the morning to rather dewy in the late afternoon, and dewy beats the Oil Factory (in domncroxd’s words!) look by a mile and half every single time.

Pour conclure, I’ve added this foundation to a (growing) list of Bobbi Brown products that have impressed me. Admittedly I have only used it once so far, hence a (preliminary) review, but there are so many things to like about this foundation. I like how effortlessly it blends into the skin without weighing it down. I like that it can withstand the onslaught of Southeast Asian humidity (lots of points here)! And I like how this foundation’s colour range caters to a vast range of skintones from fair to dark, pink to orange to brown to yellow undertones – there are 20 shades to pick from.

Turns out I am far from alone in my fondness for this foundation. It has a very consistent and impressive 4.5 out of 5 star rating from Bobbi Brown users who’ve written in. Most of these women appear to be combination/oily skinned, which says a great deal about this product’s oil control effectiveness. So if you’re interested to check it out for yourself, the Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA++  retails here in Malaysia for RM110 for a 30ml glass bottle with a handy, hygienic pump dispenser but goes for only USD45 if you’re lucky enough to purchase there.

Or if you want to give it a whirl before any commitment, enquire at your closest Bobbi Brown counter – you might get lucky and receive a sample yourself! Good luck!

5 thoughts on “(Preliminary) Review: Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA++

    • Hey Hongyi!

      Thanks for the comment! And hope you like it as much as I do. Also, it doesn’t work for all skin types so I’d suggest getting a sample to start and seeing how you go!

      Let us know how you find it!

      – ksuan

      PS: Are you the same Hongyi who was featured in some photos on Louis Pang’s blog? 🙂

    • Hey blogsister,

      Interesting that you found that, as our skin types are similar. I guess superficially they may be alike but there are probably a few subtle differences, especially with us having taken Ro-Accutane at very different stages of our lives and it influencing our skin differently!

      – ksuan

  1. Pingback: Review: Clinique Almost Makeup SPF 15 « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

