Home

Hullo everybody! It’s been raining in KL recently and it was great to see the sun finally peek out and greet us in all its majestic warmth (basically it means that I can go sun-tanning now, harhar).

ksuan wrote an informative entry on Clinique’s Super City Block Oil-Free Daily Face Protector sun screen and provided great details about sun protection and UVA/UVB rays. Continuing on the importance of sun protection, I’ll be reviewing my budget alternative for sun protection: Neutrogena’s Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock in SPF50+.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF50+ - Photo: Allure.com (thanks to me accidentally deleting my own photo from Photobucket : ( )

More pics and review coming up!

I got this from Watsons during their sale and had heard that it was pretty good. Neutrogena’s Ultra Sheer sunblock is stabilized with Helioplex, thus providing superior balanced broad-spectrum protection against UVA and UVB rays. Helioplex is Neutrogena’s proprietary name for the abovementioned patented UVA/UVB protection. The Dry Touch tag you see is apparently the technology used to provide an ultra-light, non-shiny finish. It’s purported to be waterproof, and sweatproof, is oil- and PABA-free, and is non-comedogenic. It can be used for both face and body.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that this 88ml tube came with a blister seal : ) (simple things make me happy). I’m a stickler for two things when it comes to skincare: manufacture date and freshness, meaning that no one has opened up the tube/bottle. The sunblock squeezes out white and has a lighter texture than most traditional body suncreens. You might find it a bit strange to spread this around your face and put make-up after if you’re used to just a moisturizer or facial sunscreen, but don’t worry as it’ll absorb quite quickly and doesn’t leave a strong scent.

Looks, feels and spreads like a body sunscreen, but smells great! - Photo: Author's Own

I’ve been using it for about a month and I’m happy to report that I don’t have blocked pores or greasier skin. My skin is naturally oily but this did not exacerbate it, which is great.

Comes in one size – 88ml, for around RM34.88-RM40+, depending on where and when you get it. Sales will push it down to RM34.88 at Watsons and Guardians. Definitely a budget buy for me, and I’ll be repurchasing this when I run out!

10 thoughts on “Review: Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock

  1. I used this for a while, but I suspect that it was breaking me out due to the high silicone content, so I stopped. But I loved the silky smooth texture (probably the effect of the silicone ironically), so I’m sad that it didn’t work out for me 😦

  2. Hi Foong Jin, thank you for your comment! Sorry to hear that this didn’t work out for you : ( What sunscreen are you currently using? I think I will review Clinelle’s one next – that one doesn’t have silicon and is priced reasonably too : )

  3. I used Sunplay UV Aqua Gel for a while, but it was SPF25/PA++, which wasn’t high enough for me. So I went back to my old staple L’Oreal UV Perfect SPF50/PA+++. It doesn’t break me out, but it leaves an oily sheen on my face and makes it slightly sticky. I use loose powder as my final step anyway, so it doesn’t matter, but I’d prefer something without L’Oreal’s stickiness 😛

    Looking forward to your Clinelle review! 🙂

  4. Ooh, I remember reviewing this one and hating it. The hydrating lotion version is much better for me but oils me up in Malaysia. Will keep an eye out for your Clinelle review as I am trying to avoid sunscreens containing oxybenzone.

  5. Love this sunblock personally (which I stock up whenever they’re selling for RM30, which does happen) because it’s not sticky or greasy after application; but I can’t use it on my face, so I just use it on the body instead.

    • It is a great sunblock 🙂 Lately though I think my skin’s not taking too well to it so I’ll just use this as a body sunscreen as well.

  6. Pingback: Review: Biore UV AQUA Rich Watery Essence Sunblock SPF50+/PA+++ « belle demoiselle

  7. Pingback: Review: Aviderm Immaculate Solution UV Pimple Concealer SPF30 « belle demoiselle

  8. Pingback: Quick Recap: ksuan’s India Arsenal | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

