Home

While I enjoy all things that make me clean and beautiful, I must confess that I sometimes forget about taking proper care of my hair and scalp. Sometimes I just whack on whatever shampoo and conditioner I can find (as long as it’s cheap!), and I try to blow dry every day. If not, at least I let it air dry with a bit of serum. As what I’ve joked with ksuan a million times, I have ‘black girl hair’ – meaning to say that my texture is really rough, kinky, wavy, and just plain ARGH. It’s also very thick. I sometimes find afro hair too, although if my whole head was a ‘fro I swear I will not complain. I think ‘fros are cool.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand…

Some of the Tresemme Range - Photo Courtesy of Google Images

I first saw Tresemme when studying in Australia. My housemate at that time was using it and it was sold in Safeway (their national supermarket, also known as Woolworths). I was too cheap to try it out as I was a poor student living on a student budget, and my shampoos were either brought from home (Kerastase from home, no joke!) or bought from Aldi (a budget supermarket cheaper than Safeway).

Imagine my delight when I came back and found it on Guardian’s shelves! Big bottles too, and at a pretty decent price of RM27.90 (900ml) at the time of purchase. Of course, cheapo me only bought it when Guardian was having a 2-for-1 offer. So, I bought the Salon Silk shampoo and Moisture Rich conditioner for only RM27.90 : ). There was no accompanying conditioner on the shelf at that time, so I just grabbed what seemed right for my hair.

First up: Tresemme’s  Salon Silk shampoo:

Tresemme Salon Silk Shampoo - Photo Courtesy of Tresemme.Com.Au

This shampoo promises to be intensely moisturizing to calm frizz and tame unruly hair, leave it soft and silky to the touch, sleek…you name it. I liked the scent, it was a very light, fresh scent and came out silverish in color. One pump dispensed enough for my hair and lathered up very well. The one kink in this product though is that it definitely did not deliver for my type of hair. It only managed to soften my hair slightly and I was expecting it to help tame my natural kinks and waves, which it didn’t. My hair still feels like its usual curly, slightly rough self.

Next, the Moisture Rich conditioner:

Tresemme Moisture Rich Conditioner - Photo Courtesy of Tresemme.Com.Au

This formula claims to restore moisture balance and protect against future damage. At the back of my shampoo bottle, it shows that the Moisture Rich range is less moisturizing than the Salon Silk range. This conditioner helped detangle my hair, but that was pretty much it. It’s a standard conditioner, doesn’t really do anything to reduce frizz, so if you’ve got normal hair, you can probably try this one. It’s got a very light scent and I didn’t get any allergies, but I’m a little ‘meh’ at the effect. After all, it’s called Moisture Rich and I thought it would deliver on the level of Dove shampoos, which are very moisturizing.

My overall verdict? I guess it’s a good buy for 900ml, and RM27.90-RM30.00 isn’t too expensive considering that it’s a brand name product and imported straight from Australia. However, it didn’t do much for me as I thought it would in terms of taming frizz, keeping my hair soft or infusing it with extra moisture. I probably will not buy it again, unless I was running out of shampoo and there was a special offer.

2 thoughts on “Review: Tresemme Professional Formula Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. somehow tresemme always seem to get good reviews on australian tv. thats how one day i landed my hands on them and was utterly disappointed. it actually made my hair so dry and hay-like. of course the australian weather didnt help either. don’t understand how these shows actually review the products. i suspect its bribery! haHA

    • Hahaha probably. My housemate loved this stuff though and she had those natural curls. Ho hum…now I have to finish two 900ml bottles before I can attempt anything else : (

Leave a Reply

