Home

For a former acne sufferer such as myself, foundation primers are a gift because they help even out skin surface and skin tone. Primers also help make-up stay on and look fresh for longer. I was taught to spread it out evenly on both hands and use my fingers to lightly blend it into my skin without rubbing it in like I would do for a moisturizer.

I bought the Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (Oil Free) early this year to try it out. At RM129.00 for 50ml, I think it’s a fair price for a brand name. However, did it do its job? Read on to find out!

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer - Oil-Free - Photo Courtesy of LauraMercier.Com

When I first opened the tube, it had a strange plasticky smell. I’m not sure if it’s meant to smell that way, but it’s not overtly unpleasant and so far, it hasn’t done anything damaging to my face. The Laura Mercier foundation primer squeezes out in a white, lightweight creamy texture, and quickly and smoothly blends into your skin. Although I say ‘cream’, it’s more of a gel-like substance similar to Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel or Moisture Surge. As I’ve got oily skin, I’ve used the oil-free formula and it helped keep shine to a minimum when I’m at the office and outside in our lovely Malaysian weather. I only squeezed out a pea-sized blob, spread it between my index, middle and ring fingers, and using light strokes, spread it out evenly on my face. However, you can apply more than that if you want as it doesn’t clog pores.

The other goods boasted by this foundation are as follows:

  • Specifically created for oily, sensitive and acne-prone skin types; oil-free
  • Contains high water content and addresses surface dehydration around active blemishes
  • Oil controlling ingredients ensure long-wear and flawless application
  • Vitamins A, C, and E act as antioxidants & protect the skin from harmful, aging effects of the environment

I’d definitely get it again because it does its job as an oil-free primer, helped even out my skin texture and kept my makeup fresh. It’s worn after moisturizer and sunscreen. According to the Laura Mercier site, you can even massage it in for a few minutes as it’s healthy and stimulating for the skin.

Do note though that you should purchase the right primers for the different makeup you have. There are heaps out there: foundation, lip, and eye primers – all of which bind differently to the makeup. Even for foundation primers, I’ve learnt that if you use mineral foundations, try and go for the mineral primers. When I used the usual primer (e.g. the Laura Mercier Oil-Free one) for my loose mineral powder foundation, I ended up looking a little patchy and it felt a little sticky and uncomfortable. I’ve sampled LM’s Mineral Primer before and it was so comfortable and held up my makeup as it transformed from a creamy texture to a powdery one (LM has two mineral primers: in a cream and in powder form).

Each tube only lasts for 6 months (expiry, not amount-wise), so this is probably for those who wear makeup quite often. I find though that it’s better to let the primer sink in a little for a minute or so, because my liquid foundation tends to flake off if I slap it on too quickly.

LM’s other primers in the 50ml tube range are its classic Foundation Primer, Hydrating Foundation Primer (for drier skins) and Mineral Foundation Primer. They’re all retailing at RM129.00. Store locations are here.

Till the next entry, Happy Thursday and have a great holiday tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Review: Laura Mercier Foundation Primer – Oil-Free

  1. great reviews girls.. they just make me wanna head off to the cosmetics section to splurge.

    theres a holiday in msia tmr? happy long weekend then!

  2. Hi Cheryl,

    Thanks for the support! Feel free to suggest cosmetics for us to review on.

    Yup, it’s Wesak Day tomorrow. Yay for the long weekend and (on the bright side) some time to finish work ; )

  3. hope u girls had a happy wesak =)

    i recently bought a bottle of liquid eyeshadow and sadly it hasn’t been working out well for me. maybe i’m applying it incorrectly. i believe liquid eyeshadow is getting more popular these days and there arent many reviews out there. maybe you would want to do one. just a suggestion! hehe

  4. i got them really cheap (was on sale) from yves rocher. its called couleurs nature in bronze. really love the colour but it doesnt seem to be blending well =(

  5. I have the LM foundation primer, but it have horrible smell like tar… I eat sweets when i put it on to overcome the smell as i dont wana waste the expensive product.

Leave a Reply

