Home

Have you tried enzyme masks or peels before?

Freeman Facial Enzyme Mask Pineapple - Photo: Author's Own

I’ve heard of enzyme masks and peels before and have lusted after a few, like Peter Thomas Roth’s Pumpkin Enzyme Peel (very expensive, by the way). Before I continue, what are these enzyme masks and peels?

Apparently, enzyme masks and peels penetrate deeper into the skin to help accelerate the exfoliation process. I’ve heard the words ‘fruit acid’ thrown around in the same context, making it seem like it deeply, but gently, exfoliates the upper layer of the dermis to reveal beautiful, new skin. Here’s what’s stated in an article I found:

An Enzyme peel accelerates the natural exfoliate process of the skin to get rid of dead skin cells, promote young cell renewal, and visibly diminish scars, stretch marks, aging spots and lines, sun damage, and skin discoloration. Enzymes penetrate the upper layers of the tissue, cleansing pores and improving skin texture, tone, elasticity and tautness.

I was at Watsons, Hartamas Shopping Centre and chanced upon this squeezy bottle at RM19.50 for 150ml. Guardian is currently selling it at RM18 but I’ve yet to find a fresh tube. The first time I saw this in Guardian and shook it, there was an odd slushy sound. Since it was manufactured in 2008, some of the stuff may have separated. The tube I bought from Watsons did not have the slushy sound and was manufactured in January 2010.

Its instructions are simple. Slather a thick layer on clean skin, leave on for 10 minutes, wash well with warm water. This is how it looks like:

Almost gel-like, but with little bits and pieces - Photo: Author's Own

The consistency reminded me of marmalade, but it’s very pleasant-smelling with only a tinge of pineapple. It spread quite easily and has little bits and pieces that resemble broken down fruit. You do have to use quite a bit of the mask though. After 10 minutes of playing my Nintendo DS, I rinsed off with warm water.

It feels a little slimy once the water hits it, and it does take some time before the mask breaks down. I recommend gently scrubbing the mask in before you rinse off as there’s some exfoliating bits in there – very fine, but it works and you should take the time to scrub nicely before rinsing. Oh, and scrub as you rinse too!

The verdict? Really smooth, soft skin! My skin also felt plumped up and a little brighter. I also have pretty dull skin, and this mask exfoliated the dead skin cells off pretty well. For those who are worried if this will affect sensitive skin, I’ve got sensitive and thin skin but it works fine for me. No burning sensation, itchiness or redness either. I’m not one to take chances though, so I did spray with an alcohol-free toner instead of my usual Clinique toner afterwards.

Is this a keeper? You betcha! It’s pretty affordable and if you’re using it around twice a week, you’d probably have this last for a few months. I don’t have the patience for paper masks and certain peel-off masks tend to irritate and pull at my skin, so this one is pretty good. Once I save up, I’ll compare this with PTR’s pumpkin enzyme peel and we’ll see if this is a viable alternative to keeping skin healthy, bright and happy.

6 thoughts on “Review: Freeman Facial Enzyme Mask Pineapple

  1. Hellooo! Nice review! =) The mask sounds good. I’ll see if I get around to trying this. I’ve only recently tried their pear facial wash, which was just ok. But smelled great. *tee hee*

  2. Hi Syen! Thanks for dropping by, we appreciate it! Definitely give this a go – I read your skin profile and I think it would be suitable for you : ). Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

