Home

Do you include scrubs/exfoliators in your weekly regime? If so, what kind do you use? The ones I’ve encountered so far include:

  1. The microdermabrasion type (e.g. Estee Lauder’s Idealist range or Clinique’s Turnaround range)
  2. Softer, finer particles embedded in a viscous gel with little foaming action (e.g. Clinelle’s Skin Smoothing Scrub, available from all major pharmacies and Robinsons The Gardens Mid Valley)
  3. Grainy, larger particles embedded in cream-like cleansers (e.g. St. Ives Apricot Scrubs)
  4. Grainy, larger particles embedded in gel with lots of foaming action (e.g. The Body Shop Seaweed Pore-Cleansing Facial Exfoliator)

The Body Shop Seaweed Pore-Cleansing Facial Exfoliator - Photo courtesy of TheBodyShop.com

This 75ml tube fits my personal checklist on getting new skincare items to try. It’s travel-sized (75ml), relatively good value (RM45.00), a little goes a long way, and is suitable for oily/combination skin. That being said, note that The Body Shop Seaweed range is meant for oily/combination skin. I also like how it’s quite grainy and foams up pretty well, as it really makes my skin feel squeaky clean and smooth. The exfoliating jojoba beads and olive stone granuals provide an intense massaging and scrub-y effect as well. The granules are similar in size and feel to the St. Ives ones, but smoother.

I’ve been using this for about a month now as my weekly ritual every Sunday, and it helps keep my skin smoother and more purified. I don’t see any marked improvement in clarifying my complexion or balancing out my skin tone (both of which are claims made in the company’s website), but it does a great job of cleaning up excess oil. This is how it looks like:

Texture and Exfoliating Bead Size - Photo: Author's Own

However, do bear in mind that this may be quite drying for some skins, including those with oily skins. I briefly mentioned my purchase to ksuan, and she said she found it to be a little too drying for her skin.

I personally like this very much and it’s great value for money. Since I only use it weekly and a pea-sized dollop suffices, this product is going to last a very long time. One thing to note though: It does a pretty good job of stripping away oil, so I don’t use my astringent (alcohol-based toner) after that. Instead, I use an alcohol-free toner like Clinelle’s Skin Soothing Toner before my moisturizer.

Happy squeaky clean scrubbing!

Leave a Reply

