Home

Remember when loose mineral  powder became all the rage? The glowing reviews on how it was the ‘miracle makeup’ as it is suitable to all skin types, will not make you break out, is healthy for your skin and provided amazing coverage?

I remember being quite doubtful initially, as I was a firm believer in using liquid foundation first and powder later. That was until I bought the Laura Mercier loose mineral powder.

Laura Mercier Mineral Powder SPF 15 - Photo: Author's Own

This product has been on the market for a long time, but only recently did I purchase this little beauty. I went to Robinsons in The Gardens Mid Valley and the sales girl (I believe her name’s Nana) was extremely helpful and friendly. She color-matched me, and believe you me, color-matching is very difficult for me due to my skin tone, which can range from yellowish gray to yellow-tinted tan to pale. My color is Real Sand, but she kindly gave me a sample for a slightly darker color, called Natural Beige.

It’s a very versatile loose powder and provides pretty good coverage. I’ve used it alone on days when I don’t wear liquid foundation. On top of liquid foundation, it helps set my foundation very well and doesn’t leave a cakey look.

What I love about this product is that it doesn’t have as much shine particles like other powders. A little goes a long way as well. Another plus point: It’s great for travelling! Why?

Convenient Protective Cap! - Photo: Author's Own

As you can see, it’s got a twisty protective cap which you can twist to control the amount of powder to dispense AND to cover it whole. Let me show you:

No more please, thank you! - Photo: Author's Own

Just twist the cap for controlled dispensing! - Photo: Author's Own

Simple things like these make me : ). Still though, do expect some slight spillage if you dump it into your bag or baggage, because the twist cap is not as tight.

My verdict? Get this already if you haven’t! I’ve used Bare Escentuals (a.k.a. bare minerals) and Estee Lauder’s Nutritious mineral powder as well, and Laura Mercier by far is the best for me. It’s got great coverage which doesn’t cake up, doesn’t make me break out, has SPF 15, and is easy to apply. It doesn’t control the shine so much as I’ve got oily-combination skin, but it’s nothing a few tissues and an extra touch-up can’t fix hey?

The Laura Mercier (Loose) Mineral Powder SPF 15 retails for RM149.00. It’s a good deal for a 9.6g pot – so get it now!

7 thoughts on “Review: Laura Mercier Mineral Powder SPF 15

  1. how can I not love this when I have a whole pot myself too?! (not forgetting the mineral primer, bronzer and mineral illuminating power!

  2. This is my personal fav too! However, I stopped purchasing Laura Mercier’s mineral powder after I found a cheaper version of it from Lumiere (Flawless Finish). It’s RM 58, comes in a smaller pot & it works great!

    Great site btw! Came here from your FB & discovered that there’s someone who loves testing out facial/makeup products like me too! ;D

  3. Hi Sookie – thank you for your comment! I’ll definitely check out Lumiere and do a side-by-side comparison : ). Please check back often and help spread the word!

  4. Pingback: Review: Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer Kit « belle demoiselle

  5. Pingback: Review: Clinique Blended Face Powder and Brush « belle demoiselle

  6. Pingback: Review: Lancome Maquicake UV Infinite « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

