Home

Urban Decay's Clean and Sober Makeup Remover - Photo courtesy of UrbanDecay.com

Ever since Sephora made its way to the sunny shores of Singapore, I’ve been raring to get all the make-up goodies that aren’t available here in Malaysia. My last trip down during Chinese New Year this year saw me splurging almost SGD200 or so on Urban Decay primers and products. I received the Clean and Sober Makeup Remover as part of a gift pack that included 2 eyeshadows, 2 eyeliners, a primer and a makeup travel bag.

Clean and Sober is an oil-free gel-based makeup remover. It’s not viscous and feels a bit watered down for a gel.  I was advised to use this on a cotton pad and wipe, but I found that it didn’t really do much to help remove my makeup. Bearing in mind that I normally use loose mineral powder only as my makeup, I thought that maybe I should use this as a proper double cleanser and cleanse my skin with damp fingers.

So the methodology I follow is:

  1. Dampen face and hands slightly
  2. Pump out the remover and cleanse
  3. Add water when necessary to get a bit of foam

I then follow up with my usual 4-step (the additional step is my serum) and off to bed I go.

What I love about this product is that it’s got a nice smell reminiscent of lavender, and it’s travel-sized. The artwork is pretty cool as well – it was designed by celebrity tattoo artist Ami James. I was a fan of Miami Ink, which showed on Discovery Travel and Living, and Ami James is definitely one of the best tattoo artists out there. The remover comes in a handy pump container which carefully dispenses the right amount needed. I think I should be able to reuse it for my travels (a huge plus point!)

I did not use this to remove any eye makeup as I’ve read reviews on how it did irritate the eyes (given that it’s a gel cleanser). What I didn’t really like about it was that it didn’t clean as well as expected and the instructions weren’t very clear on how to use it. It retails online for USD 18.00 and I believe that dollar-to-dollar, Sephora Singapore may sell it at a comparable price (i.e. SGD18-20).

Would I get this again? Probably not, if I wanted a deep, refreshing clean. I think that if you had liquid foundation and powder on top, with primer and the lot, it would be better to go for another makeup remover. However, as with a lot of Urban Decay items, it’s a fun buy to have and quite useful for travel as its full size is already at 100ml – the limit for hand-carried items : )

2 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay Clean and Sober Makeup Remover

  1. I got this too, but have yet to try it out. I’ve got 3 others to finish up first.

    Try these steps:
    1) Apply the solution on your face and gently rub all over
    2) Add tiny amount of water and start rubbing again
    3) Wash it off

    Treat it like using cleansing oil.

  2. Hi AtelierGal, thank you for stopping by! I’ve tried your method and I think it works best if you have about 1.5 pumps of it. Do let me know when you’ve tried it out and please post a link here so that I can read it too!

Leave a Reply

