Home

Hello lovelies! Happy new year and here’s to many awesome things (and more makeup) to come! Hope you’ve recharged over the holidays and welcomed in the new year in exciting ways (or not- I watched a movie in bed with the cat in typical cat-lady fashion!)

I absolutely enjoy seeing what everyone has loved for 2013 and so here’s my list of top products in their individual category that I really like and have used over and over again throughout the year and think they perform really well. There are a few missing such as powder and mascara among whatever else, mainly because although there are products I use on a regular basis, I don’t think they’re perfectly awesome and will probably be on the lookout for better choices in 2014!

Without much ado- here are my toppest top makeup and skincare loves of 2013!

Foundation
Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Foundation
A surprising hit for me, the shade match is spot on and it provides that middle ground of feeling on the skin and enough coverage.
2013 1
Tinted Moisturizer
Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer
Love this much more than the Bobbi Brown, feels great on the skin and evens out any redness and darkness.
2013 2
Concealer
MAC Studio Finish Concealer
A creamy emollient formula that I found especially workable when using fingers, it blends well and is lightly hydrating.
2013 3
Blush
MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Stereo Rose
I’m a blush fiend and it was so difficult to choose just one but I do keep returning to this. Beautifully light and pigmented and blendable, it’s just the right flush of rose on the cheeks.
2013 4
Highlighter
Topshop Sunbeam
A beautiful powder with a strong gold sheen, I adore layering this over the top of my cheekbones, it radiates shine like nobody’s business.
2013 5
Bronzer
YSL Terre Saharienne
It is a little surprising that YSL the brand doesn’t feature more heavily in my top products of 2013 since I’m obsessed with their stuff but the bronzer is the only one I use consistently. It’s  a matte bronzer that is super easy to use.
2013 6
Lipstick
Revlon Lip Butters
I’ve seem to amass quite a collection of these cute little pigmented balms. Though not quite a lipstick, lately I’ve come to reach for them especially for work. They’re lovely to put on, easy and wears off lightly- perfect for work.
2013 7
Lip Pencil
NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dolce Vita
Took me long enough to finally try the Nars lip pencils, it was very late in the year but the application and formula clean blew me away. Dolce Vita is especially beautiful for a very nude understated look and I can’t wait to try more.
2013 8
Eyeliner
Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio
A collection of just basic matte shades designed to complement brown eyes and is value for money, I’ve really enjoyed using the black shade especially.
2013 9
Cream Eyeshadow
Benefit Stiletto
Benefit produces some of the best cream eyeshadows. Smooth soft formula with deeply beautiful pigmented colours. Stiletto especially is a wonderful eggplant purple that can be swept all over the lids for an easy evening look.
2013 10
Eyeshadow
MAC Sable
Buttery smooth and the perfect neutral for daytime wear, Sable is the my most used eyeshadow this year and no wonder!
2013 11
Palette
Custom Unii Palette of MAC eyeshadows
Forsaking my UD Naked Palette, the most used is my own custom made one where I’ve depotted (nearly) all of my Mac eyeshadows into a Unii case.
2013 12
Tool/Brushes
Real Technique Brushes
Hands down these are my favourite brushes with the softest bristles. They buff, blend and deposit products with ease, and the blush brush especially is one I’d recommend.
2013 13
Fragrance
Chloe See by Chloe
I just recently realised I have five perfumes sitting on my table! Current favourite goes to See by Chloe, which is a sweet light floral, housed in a pretty birdcage bottle.
2013 14
Moisturizer
The Body Shop Ginger Sparkle Body Butter
This is one of the christmas edition scents I bought in 2012 and it has lasted well for a year! It smells unbelievably warm and delicious and the formula sinks into the skin. I have three other tubs of body butters I need to use up first but this is a definite repurchase come next Christmas!
2013 15
Lip Balm
Nuxe Reve de Miel
A luxurious balm which leaves my lips feeling nourished over night and it smells rather like honey lemon, one of my favourite scents.
2013 16
Hair stuff
Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk
This original formula is a no fuss dry shampoo which performs nicely without leaving any white residue. My second day hair always ends up feeling refreshed, non-oily and fluffy.
2013 17
Toner
Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic
Somehow this has made toner a daily night-time routine for me, it takes off any final residue of makeup and dirt and just prepares my face for lotions.
2013 18
Makeup Remover
Bioderma Crealine H2O
Holy grail makeup remover, enough said! My only negative is the inability to find the 500ml size and the fact that it costs 10x as much in Australia than France.
2013 19
Acne Buster
Mario Badescu Drying Lotion
When my face decided to erupt into Mount Vesuvius and sprouted angry red acne around my cheeks, the only thing which worked to clear it up is this product! Saving grace skincare!
2013 20
Mask
Aesop Chamomile Concentrate Anti-Blemish Masque
This Aesop mask taught me the indulgence of skincare, to lather on a layer of clay onto my face and take a break from the hectic city life. It draws out impurities without leaving the skin dry or tight.
2013 21
Nail Polish
OPI Melon of Troy
My go to nail colour of the year, it’s fun, summery and makes me happy.

2013 22So lovelies, what are YOUR top products of the last year? Are there any here you’d like to see a review of (if I haven’t done so already?) Let us know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “SdV’s Best of Beauty 2013

Leave a Reply

