Home

I received the Botani Olive Skin Serum to try out sometime back, and was pretty excited to try it out. I’ve been seeing Botani on other blogs and it’s a brand with values I admire – eco-friendly, all-natural, and against animal testing. I’ve been getting into more natural and organic skincare lately, and while I do note that it’s not for everyone, I’m happy to note that some of the things I’ve been testing are working well for me.

A quick introduction to Botani:  It is a 100% Aussie made and owned brand, dedicated to caring for the individual and enabling every customer to experience the pleasure of continuous skin healty and beauty. All their products are free from the following ingredients: petrochemicals or mineral oils, parabens, sulphates or detergents, and animal-derived ingredients. It is 100% pure and organic where possible, with no artificial fragrances or colorants, or synthetic emulsifiers and fillers.

So this is how the Botani Olive Skin Serum looks like:

The Olive Skin Serum is a non-greasy, highly penetrative 100% botanical serum containing pure plant anti-oxidants. It has squalene (Extracted from olives), and Vitamins C and E. It also has lecithin. And that’s pretty much it really – only 4 ingredients. We all know that the fewer ingredients a product has, the better it is purportedly for your skin. This serum is designed to combat dryness, heal scars, soften fine lines and wrinkles, and is even safe for the eye area.

First off – what is squalene? You may have heard of it, and basically, it helps to keep our skin soft and healthy (plus it has great anti-oxidant capabilities). We do produce squalene internally, the same way we produce collagen. Using serums like these help to protect our skin externally. Squalene derived from olives closely mimics the squalene we produce.

My review? Well, I’ve been plagued by five million skin troubles lately (also, I like using the phrase ‘five million <somethings> to exaggerate the extent of my problems). I’ve  been developing rather random eczema spots all over my body which refused to go away with topical medical creams. Now, as this serum is safe for psioriasis and eczema sufferers, the first parts of my body I tried it on were my eczema spots and my temples, where I have seborrheic dermatitis. My eczema spots healed and stopped itching after about four days of twice-a-day application, and it soothed my itchy seb derm spots. After about 10 days, my eczema spots were gone :). My temples were smoother to the touch and more moisturized, without any irritation. All I needed was one drop, warmed up on my fingertips, and I patted it onto the spots and my temples.

Facial skin-wise, I also used one drop because I was afraid that it might clog my pores. I’m happy to report that I have no reactions to this product, but I think I may have to use this for more than a month to see if it heals any of my old pimple scars. It didn’t exacerbate any of my existing clogged pores, but it also didn’t clear those pores up.

I think that this serum, while suitable for all skin types, would be much better for those with drier or dehydrated skins. I was going through a period of dehydrated skin, and my skin absorbed this up like water. To use, I used my alcohol-free toner to tone my face and leave some moisture, before patting in one drop or two of the serum. I rubbed the serum between my fingertips to warm it up. The packaging is great – it comes with a dropper and an airtight cover so that the serum remains pure.

I do recommend this because my skin felt very comfortable and supple when I used it. I may re-review it in the future after using it much longer to see how it works with my other skincare and whether it improves my scars. I gave this to my mom to try, and she loved it as well. She reported no breakouts from this product, and it seems like it’s something that all skin types can really benefit from. It’s great for sensitive skin as well, and a little goes a long way. It’s priced at AUD31.95 online at the Botani website.

Disclaimer: This product was provided to us for consideration. Our views are our own and are not influenced in any other way.

6 thoughts on “Review: Botani Olive Skin Serum

    • Yeah – I remember you blogged about the DHC Olive Oil cleanser and how it broke you out. Maybe I should edit the post to say that if you’re allergic to olive oil, to use something else?

  1. My hubby has had this oily acne-prone skin for god knows how long, and every time acne breaks out he gets grumpy…so I did some research and suggested him wiping his skin with witch hazel toner, let it dry naturally, then spray some water, and apply one drop of this serum. I think one drop is more than enough for oily skin, and it should be always applied on wet skin to avoid clogging the pores. Now he has less pimples, his skin is soft but not oily. So far so good.

    • Hi Anonymous! That’s a great idea, and you’re right, one drop is more than enough for very oily skin. Let us know how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

