Review: Nivea Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin

Hi ladies! I do apologise for the unnaturally long absence. Life caught up with me in a big way over the past several weeks, and I have to thank dom for taking the reins for the belle team so beautifully.

To begin the process of making it up to you, here’s a quick review of one of my purchases from last month:

Photo courtesy of iblogbeauty.com

Let me introduce you to Nivea’s Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin.

This innocuous little jar of white cream shot to stardom (and boosted Nivea’s European sales in a big way) quite recently after it was discovered that the Duchess of Cambridge, better known to us as Kate Middleton, is a devout fan.

I saw the full Nivea Pure and Natural range proudly displayed at my local Watson’s and decided to reach out and give this day cream a try, as I was running a little low on my Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel anyway.

How did I find it?

First and foremost, I want to commend the good folks at Nivea for formulating a line of products that is free of parabens, silicones, colourants and mineral oils. Sensitive-skinned, environmentally-conscious girls everywhere thank you! Secondly, kudos once more to Nivea for their great job with the packaging of this product: the cream is contained in a sturdily constructed, weighty little glass jar, reminiscent of old Hazeline Snow/Nivea face cream jars. There is something to be said for classic, can’t-go-wrong packaging, and I’m happy that Nivea took this on board.

Performance wise, I am not so sure about this cream for daytime use. Despite it purportedly being formulated for normal to combination skin, I found it quite greasy and emollient. The cream is thick and consistent, and even the most delicate of dollops packs a solid punch. Even when I used a teeny tiny bit for my entire face, it would inevitably grease up moments after sinking into skin. I only used this as a day cream for a few days before getting a little tired of it constantly oil-slicking up over the course of the day, rather relentlessly.

I did, however, strike gold when I switched it to a night cream. These days before going to bed, I slather some on and let it sink in overnight – and when I wake up, my skin feels comfortable, soft, and extremely moisturised thanks to the cream’s aloe vera and argan oil content. I alternate between this and my trusty, beloved Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief and so far, my skin has responded quite positively to the combination therapy.

I have to say that I am not a huge fan of the scent. This cream smells strongly of chamomile (cosmetic chamomile, not the flower or the tea) and is a little overwhelmingly floral for my liking. Thankfully the scent dissipates over time, but I wish Nivea had toned it down from the start, especially since it’s meant to be a 95% naturally-derived product and should ideally not be too artificially fragranced.

A 50ml jar of Nivea Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin retails at your local pharmacy for SGD 16.90. It’s a pretty decent price, especially as all you need is a minuscule amount of cream for the entire face. I’ve been using the stuff for a month and there is barely a dent in the jar’s contents!

Pour conclure, I would recommend this day cream to girls whose skin errs on the “normal” as opposed to the “combination” side of the spectrum, and who want a natural plant-based product that won’t break the bank. Oily-skinned girls, steer clear of this for daytime use – but give it a whirl as an intensive moisturising treat for your skin overnight! And dry-skinned girls, never fear: Nivea has you in mind and has made a Pure and Natural Soothing Day Cream for Dry to Sensitive Skin to suit your needs :)

3 thoughts on “Review: Nivea Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin

    • Hi Celeste,

      Sorry to hear! The scent is a little strong, this is true. Do take heed of dom’s suggestion though. I also recommend checking out Clinique’s Moisture Surge :) Thanks for reading.

      - ksuan

Leave a Reply

