Home

After the cleanser and the toner, it’s only natural that we talk about the 3rd step – moisturizer. I’ve already reviewed the first 2 of Clinique’s system here and here.

Putting on moisturizer is my favorite step – it’s like sealing the deal, the pact, putting the stamp on the envelope…well you get my drift :). This moisturizer has been billed at ‘the yellow stuff that really works!’ (I saw that in a forum somewhere), and for my oily skin concerns, I chose Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, or more affectionately known as DDMG.

Clinique's Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. Picture: Google.com

Clinique’s basic moisturizer comes in 2 types – DDMG and DDML(otion). ksuan’s tried the DDML formula before and reported that it’s much better in drier climates and/or for skins that are dry/normal. The lotion formula is richer and in this humid weather, probably not the best for oily skins.

DDMG, on the other hand, is an oil-free lighter version made for combination oily to oily skins. It’s quite cooling and slightly sticky in the beginning. I find that I do have to wait for it to dry a little before slapping on my foundation. However, the texture is smooth, there’s no discernible fragrance, and surprisingly for something that contains dimethicone as its 2nd-listed ingredient, it doesn’t have that too-smooth, pore-blocking silicone feel. DDMG spreads easily and absorbs very nicely, although not as quickly as I’d like.

It has other ingredients such as caffeine, sunflower seedcake, cucumber extract and barley extract,  and something that sounds slightly bacterial – lactobacillus ferment. Yes – it’s similar to the bacteria as the one found in yoghurt and is a by-product of the fermentation of lactobacillus.  What it does for the skin apparently is to improve moisture retention.

So my take on this? I say go for it! I’ve heard some beauty bloggers not reacting well to it because of the dimethicones but DDMG has been one of Clinique’s best-sellers and for me, I’m glad to report that it worked very well. It comes in 2 different sizes, and I can’t remember the tube size, but I buy the one in the pump bottle for RM150.00. It has 125ml content and a pump is more than enough. This lasts almost as long as the rest of the set – the large toner and the cleanser, which is to say, anywhere from 8 months to almost a year.

I only have one gripe, and it’s the packaging. When the bottle is down to its last, it’s almost impossible to get the bits of moisturizer sticking at the bottom and at the corners of the square bottle. I feel like there’s heaps of wastage and perhaps Clinique should come up with a less wasteful design. Maybe something round, or even a tube would help.

Have a great long weekend readers! :)

5 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

  1. Pingback: Comparative Review: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion v. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel « belle demoiselle

  2. Pingback: Best Face Forward | Yellow Is The Color

  3. Pingback: Review: Nivea Pure and Natural Moisturising Day Cream for Normal to Combination Skin « belle demoiselle

  4. Hello,

    Chanced upon your blog while looking for reviews on this product. I just went and bought it because your review of it was good! I hope it works for me too. I’ve been using the Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief moisturiser but I feel that it seems to clog my pores if I use it in the day… Hopefully this DDMG will be better.

    xoxo,
    Roxanne

    • Hi Roxanne, hope it works for you! The SA advised me multiple times that Moisture Surge isn’t meant to be a moisturizer on its own; it needs to be layered on top of DDMG or DDML, or whichever moisturizer you’re using. That being said I use Moisture Surge on its own both AM and PM, and I use really little during the AM. I dip the tip of my middle finger into the jar, rub it on my other fingers to spread it out and then apply it on my skin. Maybe that will help for you? Also, do you have oily, normal, or dry skin?

Leave a Reply

